Respectful production

  • Focus on the manufacturing process

    respectful

    PRODUCTION

From winter sports to outdoor sports

Born in the French Alps, we build the future every day by drawing inspiration from our roots and know‑how. Winter sports are the DNA and foundation of the Rossignol Group, the leader in the skiing market (Rossignol is number one in Alpine and Nordic skiing combined) and also one of the world’s Top Three for ski boots (Rossignol and Lange brands combined).

Aware of the current and future effects of climate change on the mountain environment (retreating glaciers, melting snow cover, degradation of ecosystems, etc.), the Rossignol Group has chosen to accelerate the way it is changing its approach in order to accompany the profound changes in the winter sports and outdoor market. Our approach to the mountain environment now extends throughout the four seasons, accompanying outdoor sports enthusiasts all year round. This market expansion is leading the Group to work with new suppliers that specialise in these areas of activity.

European map of group Rossignol's factory

Winter sports equipment
Our production areas in Europe

The Rossignol Group has five plants in Europe, two of which are in France:

Drapeau français  NeversLogo ISO 14001Logo Green Electricity
Look bindings

Drapeau français  Sallanches Logo ISO 14001Logo Green Electricity*
Rossignol and Dynastar alpine skis

Dreapeau Italien  Montebelluna Logo ISO 14001Logo Green Electricity*
Rossignol and Lange skiboots
Risport ice skates

Drapeau espagnol  Artés Logo ISO 14001Logo Green Electricity
Rossignol and Dynastar alpine skis
Rossignol nordic skis

* from 2023

AREAS OF ORIGIN OF OUR INDUSTRIAL PRODUCTION

Alpine skis
98% in Western Europe (22% in France, in Sallanches and 76% in Spain, in Artés).

Alpine skiboots
100% Europe.

Alpine ski bindings
89% in France (Look brand, no. 2 worldwide).

The Rossignol Group wants to make the Sallanches industrial site the leading recyclable ski factory in France and a major expert repair centre to extend the life of the products. The industrial site at the foot of Mont Blanc will therefore be home to the entire product cycle, including production, repair and nearby recycling, all accommodated close to one another. There is also a central logistics warehouse based in Saint-Etienne-de-Saint-Geoirs, France.

The main customer base for our products is in Europe. To us, it makes sense to manufacture our products as close as possible to this customer base. We have moved our production operations back from Asia to France and have invested in our French and European industrial facilities.

100% of our adult bindings are now produced in Nevers, and our high-end ski production has been relocated to Sallanches. Our Racing workshop and global logistics centre are also located in France. We do everything we can to ensure short distances between production, distribution and place of use.

Thus, around 80% of our winter sports equipment is produced in our European factories or at local subcontractors, as close to our – mainly European – consumers as possible.

skier jumping in powder
Group Rossignol's headquarter

International Corporate Headquarters

Located close to Grenoble, the Saint-Jean-de-Moirans site houses all the support functions, management, as well as the racing workshop (production of 10,000 pairs of competition skis, including 3,000 for athletes).

As part of our Respect Programme, the site is equipped with a solar power generation system. In January 2020, 600 photovoltaic panels were installed to produce some 200,000 kWh annually, equivalent to the consumption of 86 households.

Certified factories

ISO 14001 CERTIFICATION

Logo ISO 14001   All our production sites are ISO 14001 certified.

This is an international standard defined by the ISO (International Standardisation Organisation).

aims to ensure the continuous improvement of the environmental performance of certified sites. An audit is carried out every year to analyse the improvements and to judge whether or not certification should continue to be granted.

PEFC CERTIFICATION

Wood is at the heart of our DNA. The Rossignol brand was born in 1907 when Abel Rossignol, a carpenter and mountain enthusiast, created his first pair of wooden skis. Since then, our expertise has revolved around the fashioning of this noble and natural material.

Forests are now recognised as the best climate regulation and biodiversity enhancement tool available to us in our everyday activities. Good forestry management makes it possible to store CO2, enhance biodiversity and generate oxygen.

Our factory in Artés, Spain, has been PEFC certified since 2019. This label guarantee the sustainable management of forests by ensuring their development and protection and preventing their destruction.

The PEFC label guarantee that the certified wood is monitored all the way from the forest and through the processing and marketing chain, ultimately resulting in the certification of the finished product.

This certification can only be claimed and displayed if:

  • The wood is purchased from a certified forest;
  • The wood processing chain is certified;
  • The production plant is also certified.

If these three conditions are met, the certification is validated and a certification number is affixed to the logo.

Wooden board for ski manufacturing
Aerial view of the Rossignol group's solar panels

Renewable energy: a global challenge

The machines in the supply chain need electricity to operate and this electricity production via fossil fuels (coal, gas, oil) is the leading cause of greenhouse gas emissions worldwide. To help cut CO2 emissions worldwide, it is therefore necessary to reduce the use of fossil fuels and to commit to “green” energy.

The different sources of energy:

  • Fossil fuels: coal, oil and gas.
  • Renewable energy: hydro, wind, solar, biomass and geothermal energy.

In addition to the actions undertaken to reduce the scale of the GHG emissions generated by our raw materials (79%), our action plan includes increasing the share of renewable energies (or green energies) at our various sites in order to limit our energy consumption and thus reduce our CO2 emissions.

From January 2023, all of the Group’s production sites, as well as our head office in Saint-Jean-de-Moirans and our logistics platform in Saint-Etienne-de-Saint-Geoirs, will be powered 100% by renewable energy.

A major programme to replace conventional lighting with LED lighting has also been carried out at all our European industrial and logistics sites and has reduced energy consumption for lighting by up to 51%.

Logo Green Electricity

Apparel – Our subcontractors

Approximately 80% (by quantity) of our clothing collections are produced on the Asian continent: 50% in China (ski trousers and jackets, gloves, hats, layers, knitwear), 30% in South East Asia (ski trousers and jackets, gloves, layers) and 20% in Europe (knitwear, jerseys, layers, jackets, trousers).

We mainly work with partner factories in Asia, for various reasons.

LOCAL EXPERTISE

Most of the technical know-how required for the manufacture of outdoor clothing is centralised in Asia. To guarantee a high level of quality and the required technical properties, we count on established, long-lasting partnerships with the best possible know-how, while ensuring that we use more materials from sustainable systems with a low environmental impact (recycled materials, no PFCs).

RAW MATERIALS FROM NEARBY SOURCES

The impact of CO2 also depends on the location of the fabric. If a garment is produced in Europe with Asian fabrics, the CO2 impact is the same. We try to be logical and prioritise the shortest distance between components and place of manufacture by identifying local partner factories.

Concentrating the actors in our supply chain in the same area also allows us to limit transport. Once finished, the majority of our textile products manufactured in Asia are transported by ship to Europe, a means of transport that has relatively little impact relative to the volume of products transported.

TRUSTED PARTNERS

We work with factories that are regularly audited and take significant steps to monitor them and ensure that employees benefit from good working conditions and pay.

Each year, we commission SGS (the world’s leading inspection, testing, analysis and certification company) to conduct BSCI and/or WRAP audits of our partner factories to ensure that they respect our values and criteria and also to identify potential areas for improvement.

Focus on a product material
picture of the inside of Groupe Rossignol'l headquarter

are designed to assess producers against the 13 criteria of the amfori BSCI Code of Conduct: social management system and cascade effect, worker involvement and protection, rights to freedom of association and collective bargaining, non-discrimination, fair remuneration, decent working hours, occupational health and safety (OHS), no recourse to child labour, special protection for young workers, non-precarious employment, no recourse to bonded labour, environmental protection, and business ethics.

make it possible to verify compliance with 12 principles on legal, humane and ethical manufacturing: compliance with workplace laws and regulations, prohibition of forced labour, prohibition of child labour, prohibition of harassment or abuse, compensation and benefits, working hours, freedom of association and collective bargaining, health and safety, prohibition of discrimination, environment, customs compliance and security. The WRAP principles cover basic standards of good business practice, factory conditions, and customs and environmental compliance.

Each audit results in a grade from A to E, indicating the extent to which the audited entity complies with the amfori BSCI and/or WRAP Codes of Conduct.

Following these audits, corrective action plans are proposed to the factories for the points requiring improvement.

In addition to these social commitments, the Rossignol Group also works with its partners to promote the use of recycled materials and renewable energy.

Waste reduction or recovery

As part of the Respect programme, the Rossignol Group has committed to cutting waste by 40% by 2025 and this is reflected in various types of actions within the factories: closed-circuit reutilisation of pallets used to deliver components and finished products between the different sites, reuse of boxes delivered by spare parts suppliers.

Many projects are also underway to reduce offcuts, especially in the form of wood and polymer waste.

During production, a very small quantity of products may have defects of appearance or finish. We carry out quality controls to determine the status of all our finished products: compliant, non-compliant but with the possibility of recovery, or non-compliant and to be recycled.

Several solutions are available to us to reuse or to recycle our products:

  • Second choice: skis that are compliant (skiable) but have a manufacturing defect (stain, scratch, burr, etc.) are eligible.
  • Second hand: skis from rental activities are collected and refurbished and are then sold as second hand (from 2023/2024).
  • Second life (upcycling): non-compliant (non-skiable) skis that can nevertheless be recycled are eligible.
Jean Philippe Fusier, President of MTB Recycling and Vincent Wauters, President of Rossignol Group.

Fabriquer de manière respectueuse

  • Zoom sur le processsus de fabrication

    Fabriquer

    DE MANIERE RESPECTUEUSE

Des sports d’hiver aux sports de plein air

Nés dans les Alpes françaises, nous construisons l’avenir chaque jour en s’inspirant de nos racines et de notre savoir-faire. Les sports d’hiver sont L’ADN et le pilier historique du Groupe Rossignol avec un leadership en ski (Rossignol est numéro 1 en ski alpin et ski nordique combinés) et une place dans le Top 3 mondial en chaussures de ski (marques Rossignol et Lange réunies).

Conscient des effets actuels et à venir du changement climatique sur la montagne (recul des glaciers, fonte du manteau neigeux, dégradation des écosystèmes…), le Groupe Rossignol a fait le choix d’accélérer la transformation de son modèle afin d’accompagner les évolutions profondes du marché des sports d’hiver et de l’outdoor. Notre approche de la montagne se décline désormais tout au long des quatre saisons en accompagnant les pratiquants de sport de plein air toute l’année. Cette extension de marché amène le Groupe à travailler avec de nouveaux fournisseurs spécialisés dans ces domaines d’activités.

Carte des usines du groupe en Europe

Equipement et matériel de sports d’hiver
Nos zones de production en Europe

Le Groupe Rossignol possède 4 usines en Europe, dont 2 en France :

Drapeau français  NeversLogo ISO 14001Logo Green Electricity
Fixations Look

Drapeau français  Sallanches Logo ISO 14001Logo Green Electricity*
Skis alpins Rossignol et Dynastar

Dreapeau Italien  Montebelluna Logo ISO 14001Logo Green Electricity*
Chaussures alpines Rossignol et
Lange Patins à glace Risport

Drapeau espagnol  Artés Logo ISO 14001Logo Green ElectricityLogo PEFCLogo FSC
Skis alpins Rossignol et Dynastar
Skis de fond Rossignol

* à partir de 2023

ZONES D’ORIGINES DE NOS PRODUCTIONS INDUSTRIELLES

Ski alpin
98% en Europe de l’Ouest (22% en France à Sallanches et 76% en Espagne à Artés).

Chaussures de ski alpin
100% Europe.

Fixations de ski alpin
89% en France (marque Look, n°2 mondial).

Le Groupe Rossignol souhaite faire du site industriel de Sallanches la première usine de skis recyclables en France et un grand centre expert en réparation pour plonger la durée de vie des produits. Le site abritera ainsi, au pied du Mont Blanc, un cycle complet, en circuit court, de production, de réparation et à proximité, de recyclage. Un entrepôt logistique central est également basé à Saint-Etienne-de-Saint-Geoirs, en France.

Le bassin de consommation principal de nos produits est en Europe. Dans un esprit de cohérence, nous favorisons une production au plus près de ce bassin de consommation. Nous avons rapatrié notre production d’Asie afin de produire nos skis en France et avons investi dans notre appareil industriel français et européen.

100% de nos fixations adultes sont aujourd’hui produites à Nevers, et notre production de ski haut de gamme a été relocalisée à Sallanches. Notre atelier Course et notre centre logistique mondial sont également situés en France. Nous essayons au maximum de nous positionner sur des circuits courts entre production, distribution et utilisation.

Ainsi, environ 80% de notre matériel de sports d’hiver est produit dans nos usines européennes ou chez nos sous-traitants locaux au plus près de nos consommateurs qui sont principalement européens.

Skieur dans la poudreuse
Siège social du groupe Rossignol

Le siège social international

À proximité de Grenoble, le site de Saint-Jean-de-Moirans regroupe toutes les fonctions supports, la direction, ainsi que l’atelier course (fabrication de 10 000 paires de skis de compétition dont 3 000 pour les athlètes).

Dans le cadre de notre Programme Respect, le site dispose d’un équipement de production d’électricité solaire. En janvier 2020, 600 panneaux photovoltaïques ont été installés afin de produire quelques 200 000 kWh annuels, soit l’équivalent de la consommation de 86 foyers.

Des usines certifiées  

LA CERTIFICATION ISO 14001

Logo ISO 14001   L’ensemble de nos sites de production est certifié ISO 14001.

Il s’agit d’une norme internationale définie par l’organisation mondiale de normalisation (International Standard Organisation).

repose sur l’amélioration continue des performances environnementales des sites certifiés. Un audit est réalisé chaque année afin d’analyser les améliorations et juger favorablement ou non le maintien de cette certification.

LA CERTIFICATION PEFC & FSC

Logo PEFC Logo FSC

Le bois est au cœur de notre ADN. La marque Rossignol a vu le jour en 1907 lorsqu’Abel Rossignol, menuisier et passionné de montagne, a créé sa première paire de ski en bois. Depuis, le travail de ce matériau noble et naturel, reste au centre de notre expertise.

À ce jour, la forêt est reconnue comme le meilleur outil de régulation climatique et de renforcement de la biodiversité sur lequel nous pouvons agir au quotidien. Une bonne gestion de celle-ci permet de stocker du CO², de renforcer la biodiversité et de générer de l’oxygène.

Notre usine d’Artés, en Espagne, est certifiée PEFC et FSC depuis 2019, des labels qui garantissent une gestion durable des forêts en assurant leur développement et leur protection de celles-ci et empêchant ainsi leur destruction. Le label FSC concerne principalement des forêts tropicales alors que le label PEFC est plus centré sur les bois européens.

Les labels PEFC et/ou FSC garantissent un suivi des bois certifiés depuis la forêt, et tout au long de la chaine de transformation et de commercialisation, pour aboutir en fin de chaine à la certification du produit fini.

La mise en avant et l’utilisation de cette certification n’est possible que si :

  • L’achat du bois provient d’une forêt labellisée ;
  • La chaine de transformation du bois est labellisée ;
  • L’usine de production est également labellisée.

Une fois ces trois conditions remplies, la certification est validée et un numéro de certification apposé sur le logo.

Planche de bois pour fabrication de ski
Vue aérienne des panneaux solaires du groupe Rossignol

Énergies renouvelables : un défi mondial

Les machines issues de la chaine d’approvisionnement ont besoin d’électricité pour fonctionner et cette production d’électricité via les énergies fossiles (charbon, gaz, pétrole) est la première cause d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre dans le monde. Afin de contribuer à la réduction des émissions de CO2 dans le monde, il est ainsi nécessaire de réduire l’utilisation des énergies fossiles et de s’engager en faveur d’énergies « vertes ».

Les différentes sources d’énergies :

  • Énergies fossiles : charbon, pétrole et gaz.
  • Énergies renouvelables : hydraulique, éolien, solaire, biomasse et géothermie.

En complément des actions entreprises afin de réduire le poids de nos émissions de GES générées par nos matières premières (79%), notre plan d’actions a consisté à augmenter la part d’énergies renouvelables (ou énergies vertes) sur nos différents sites afin de limiter notre consommation énergétique et ainsi réduire nos émissions de CO2.

À partir de janvier 2023, la totalité des sites de production du Groupe, mais également notre siège social à Saint-Jean-de-Moirans et notre plateforme logistique à Saint-Etienne-de-Saint-Geoirs fonctionneront ainsi à 100% avec des énergies renouvelables.

Un grand programme de remplacement des éclairages classiques par des éclairages LED a également été mené sur l’ensemble de nos sites industriels et logistiques européens et a permis de réduire jusqu’à 51% la consommation d’énergie pour l’éclairage.

Logo Green Electricity

Apparel – Nos sous-traitants

Environ 80% de nos collections de vêtements est produit sur le continent asiatique (en quantité) :  50% en Chine (pantalons et vestes de ski, gants, bonnets, layers, tricot), 30% en Asie du Sud-Est (pantalons et vestes de ski, gants, layers) et 20% en Europe (tricots, jersey, layers, vestes, pantalons).

Nous travaillons avec des usines partenaires majoritairement implantées en Asie, pour différentes raisons.

UN SAVOIR-FAIRE LOCAL

La plupart du savoir-faire technique de la fabrication de vêtements de plein air est centralisé en Asie. Pour garantir un haut niveau de qualité et de technicité, nous nous appuyons sur un partenariat solide et durable avec le meilleur savoir-faire possible tout en veillant à utiliser plus de matériaux issus de systèmes durables et à faible impact environnemental (matériaux recyclés, sans PFC).

DES MATIERES PREMIERES A PROXIMITE

L’impact du CO2 dépend également de l’emplacement des tissus. Si un vêtement est produit en Europe avec des tissus asiatiques, l’impact du CO2 est le même. Nous essayons d’être logiques et de prioriser la distance la plus courte entre les composants et la fabrication en trouvant des usines partenaires à proximité.

Concentrer les acteurs de notre chaine d’approvisionnement sur un même territoire nous permet aussi de limiter les transports. Une fois finis, la majorité de nos produits textiles fabriqués en Asie est acheminée par bateaux jusqu’en Europe, un moyen de transport assez peu impactant rapporté au volume de produits transporté.

DES PARTENAIRES DE CONFIANCE

Nous travaillons avec des usines qui sont régulièrement auditées et adoptons des mesures significatives afin de les contrôler et s’assurer des bonnes conditions de travail et de rémunération à l’œuvre.

Chaque année, nous menons par l’intermédiaire de SGS (leader mondial de l’inspection, du contrôle, de l’analyse et de la certification) des audits BSCI et/ou WRAP au sein de nos usines partenaires afin de vérifier qu’elles respectent nos valeurs et nos critères mais également afin d’identifier les potentiels points d’amélioration.

Zoom sur une matière de produit
Photo de l'intérieur du siège social du groupe Rossignol

ont pour but d’évaluer un producteur par rapport aux 13 critères du Code de conduite amfori BSCI : système de management social et effet de cascade, implication et protection des travailleurs, droits en matière de liberté d’association et de négociation collective, non-discrimination, rémunération équitable, horaires de travail décents, santé et sécurité au travail (SST), absence de recours au travail des enfants, protection spéciale pour les jeunes travailleurs, emplois non précaires, absence de recours au travail servile, protection de l’environnement et éthique professionnelle.

permettent de vérifier la conformité de 12 principes sur la fabrication légale, humaine et éthique : conformité aux lois et réglementations sur le lieu de travail, interdiction du travail forcé, interdiction du travail des enfants, interdiction du harcèlement ou des abus, rémunération et avantages, horaires de travail, liberté d’association et de négociation collective, santé et sécurité, interdiction de la discrimination, environnement, conformité douanière et sécurité. Les principes WRAP couvrent les normes de base qui concernent les bonnes pratiques professionnelles, les conditions d’usine, et la conformité douanière et environnementale.

Chaque audit donne lieu à l’attribution d’une note de A à E qui indique dans quelle mesure l’entité auditée a respecté les Codes de conduite amfori BSCI et/ou WRAP.

A l’issue de ces audits, des plans d’actions correctives sont proposés aux usines pour les points nécessitant des améliorations.

Au-delà de ces engagements sociaux, le Groupe Rossignol œuvre également à accompagner ses partenaires pour favoriser l’utilisation de matières recyclées et d’énergies renouvelables.

Réduction ou valorisation des déchets

Dans le cadre du programme Respect, le Groupe Rossignol s’est engagé à réduire ses déchets de 40% d’ici 2025, ce qui se traduit par différents types d’actions au sein des usines : réutilisation en circuit fermé des palettes livrant les composants et produits finis entre les différents sites, réutilisation des cartons livrés par les fournisseurs de pièces détachées.

De nombreux projets sont également en cours afin de réduire les chutes, notamment de bois et de polymères.

Lors de la production, une très faible quantité de produits peut présenter des défauts d’aspect ou de finitions. Pour chacun de nos produits finis, nous réalisons des contrôles qualité pour en déterminer le statut : conformes, non-conformes mais avec la possibilité de les valoriser ou non-conformes et devant être recyclés.

Pour la faible quantité de skis s’avérant non conformes en fabrication, plusieurs solutions s’offrent à nous pour leur offrir une seconde vie ou les valoriser :

  • Le second choix : sont éligibles les skis conformes (skiables) mais comportant un défaut d’aspect lors de la fabrication (tâche, rayure, bavure…).
  • La seconde main : des skis issus de location sont récupérés et remis en état, puis seront vendus en seconde main (à partir de 2023/2024).
  • La seconde vie (upcycling) : sont éligibles les skis non-conformes (non skiables) mais avec la possibilité de les valoriser.
Jean Philippe Fusier , Président de MTB Recycling et Vincent Wauters, Président du Groupe Rossignol.