Design of more environmentally respectful products

  • mountain landscape

    Design

    OF MORE ENVIRONMENTALLY RESPECTFUL PRODUCTS

In order to understand the environmental impact of our products, we have conducted Life Cycle Assessments (LCA) for them. These provide an essential starting point for making changes and improvements in the design and production of our ranges.

Life Cycle Assessment (LCA)

LCA is the most advanced tool for the global assessment of the environmental impacts of a product. It identifies and quantifies each stage throughout the life of a product. All stages are taken into account, from design, extraction of raw materials and energy, manufacturing, transport and use, to sorting and end-of-life.

Life cycle of the products

1) LIFE CYCLE ANALYSIS OF A SKI JACKET (RAPIDE JKT)

On the basis of this analysis, we have therefore focused on the two stages that account for almost all of the total environmental impact of a ski jacket: the raw (unprocessed) materials and the manufacturing process used to transform the materials into the components needed for the garment.

In order to act quickly and effectively, our first initiatives focused on the raw materials.

  • COMPONENT MANUFACTURING
  • RAW MATERIALS
  • CONFECTION
  • DISTRIBUTION
  • END OF LIFE
Focus on the detail of a Rossignol jacket
Logo Primaloft

Consequently, a collaboration has been in place since 2018 with Primaloft, an expert in advanced materials science. The aim was to use recycled materials obtained from plastic bottles for the synthetic insulation of the Rossignol Softgoods (textile) range. From winter 2023/2024, the aim is for 100% of our ski jackets and trousers to use recycled Primaloft fibres (compared to 80% at present).

HOW DOES IT WORK?

Recyclage étape 1 Recyclage étape 2 Recyclage étape 3

Plastic bottles are salvaged from landfills.

The bottles are cleaned, shredded and melted into chips.

The chips are transformed into PrimaLoft® insulated fibers.

Logo Global Recycled Standard

At the same time, some of our products are made with GRS (Global Recycled Standard) certified Primaloft recycled fibres.

GRS is a voluntary international standard that establishes criteria for the certification of recycled material. This certification attests that the polyester used is 100% recycled. The GRS standard includes additional criteria for social and environmental requirements in terms of processing and restrictions on chemical composition.

Logo Sympatex

Since 2018, we have been using SympaTex, a PFC-free, 100% recyclable waterproof, windproof and breathable membrane on shell jackets and trousers (freeride/freerando).

The Rossignol Group also uses certified materials for the design of its products.

Logo certification GOTS

The GOTS (Global Organic Textile Standard) certification guarantees the organic status of the textile fibres used.

By 2023, some of our T-shirts and summer trousers will be made from GOTS-certified organic cotton.

OEKO-TEX

We use materials that are OEKO-TEX certified, i.e. free of substances that are harmful to the body and the environment. This certification ensures that the inspected textile products comply with legal requirements.

Focus on the detail of a Rossignol jacket
Focus on the detail of a Rossignol jacket

To ensure that all of these requirements are met, we have introduced a set of specifications for our suppliers. A verification process has been implemented and allows us to retrieve all the associated certificates.

We have also clarified and enhanced the requirements we place on our suppliers by publishing a new code of conduct:

  • Down, feathers and hides must be by-products of the food industry;
  • The use of down and feathers obtained by live plucking of animals is prohibited;
  • The use of down and feathers from the foie gras industry is prohibited.

In addition, the Group has not used animal fur since 2018 and also uses no angora wool (since 2020) or mohair (since 2021). 

Finally, from the 2023-2024 season onwards, we will be adopting PFC-free technologies for water-repellent treatments. At present, this is the best way of ensuring product resistance and performance while preserving the environment.

To make products waterproof, the textile industry has long used PFC (perfluorocarbon) treatments. These are synthetic chemicals used as water repellents that allow water to run off as drops instead of seeping into products. However, these chemicals have been identified as being carcinogenic and acting as endocrine disruptors. PFC treatments are harmful to both human health and the environment.

LIFE CYCLE ASSESSMENT OF AN ALPINE SKI

  • COMPONENTS (60% to 70%)
  • FABRICATION (24% to 28%)
  • DELIVERY (2% to 3%)
  • END OF LIFE (5% to 9%)

The delivery of our skis represents only 2 to 3% of the environmental impact of an alpine ski. Manufacturing, by contrast, represents 24-28% of the total (most of our factories are certified as using 100% renewable energy). Finally, the biggest environmental impact comes from the components used to make the ski, which account for 60-70%. We have therefore initially concentrated our efforts on this sector.

Our first actions in designing our products

  • Development of lower-impact products by favouring the use of recycled materials.
  • The edges of our skis are made from 20% recycled steel, while the bases can contain up to 85% recycled material depending on the article in question.
  • Recovery, grinding and reinjection of injection sprues for the production of ski boot shells.
  • 40,000 pairs for the 2023/2024 season will contain these recycled materials.
  • Choice of certified raw materials and extension of ski ranges with PEFC™-certified wood cores, thus guaranteeing sustainable forest management.
  • Reduction of polluting substances in the production of all Rossignol ranges.
  • A process of standardisation of materials has been initiated in order to reduce the number of materials and also the variety of sources of these materials in the products. The aim is to simplify the supply and manufacture of products, but also to limit the risks of raw material obsolescence at the end of the manufacturing cycle. Finally, in cases where it is difficult to reduce the number of materials used, these efforts facilitate the recycling of the products at the end of their life (see the Essential Ski).

With regard to ski decoration, the inkjet printing process has been progressively improved in recent years at Rossignol and has been implemented for significant quantities of products. This process makes it possible to use and waste less ink, and does not require the use of screen printing media or solvents for cleaning.

For our ski helmets, we now make widespread use of a new material that is more environmentally friendly and 100% recyclable. Its manufacture requires no VOCs (Volatile Organic Compounds), CFCs (chlorofluorocarbons) or other compounds known to be particularly harmful to the environment. Our approach was recognised in January 2019 with an ISPO Award.

Photo of raw materials for the manufacture of skis
Picture of the Essential ski

Better management of the end of life of products…

At the same time, even though the end of the product’s life represents only 5 to 9% of the environmental impact of a ski, it should be noted that, at present, the worst scenario at this stage of the process is landfill, which is a disastrous method for the environment. So far, too many skis have ended up in landfill.

Over recent years, some of the end-of-life skis recovered by the Group have been broken up to obtain various types of components, with ferrous and non-ferrous metals being separated for recycling and the production of new steel and aluminium. The majority of the other components that are recovered are mixed plastics, which we use as a solid recovered fuel.

These observations gave rise to the Essential project, which has the aim of obtaining more recycled materials and promote maximum recycling of our end-of-life skis.

… Starts with a better initial design

The approach that we introduced is therefore based on a reduction in the number of materials used and the rigorous, exclusive selection of materials that can be easily recycled at end of life in order to promote a circular economy. The result is a product with a recyclability rate of 77%.

Constructed according to a simple philosophy, the ESSENTIAL ski boasts an eco-design incorporating certified natural, recycled and bio-sourced materials, a graphic design process using no solvents or water, and is produced using renewable energy. This Rossignol innovation was recently awarded the “circular economy” prize by the Union Sport & Cycle at the ÉcoSport Awards 2022.

While working upstream on the design of the skis to include more environmentally friendly materials, we also chose to partner with MTB, a leading player in the recycling sector, in order to manage and deal effectively with the specific issue of the end of life of our products.

The raw materials of a ski
Picture of the Essential ski

This co-development approach led to the introduction of a process for the breaking up, sorting, separating and reuse of materials. This is based on a technological process that improves the recycling of both conventional skis and ski boots and poles, and especially the new Essential skis.

Recycling forms part of a circular economy approach supported by organised networks. The materials recovered can be be used to supply the automotive, gardening and construction industries and, in future, will be reused in certain new Rossignol products.

Designed by MTB, the R Box is an innovative tool for recycling skis, boots and poles and is set to be launched in 2023.

By 2028, the Group’s aim is for one third of its ski ranges to be part of a circular economy approach. Other products (boots, poles, clothing) are currently being developed with the same simple, streamlined approach that is intended to permit greater recyclability.

Minimising the impact of our packaging

We are working to limit our packaging and striving to adopt more recyclable alternatives: FSC®-certified cardboard packaging, use of recycled PE polybags, reduction in the amount of ink used on packaging to reduce its impact and ensure its recyclability.

We have also designed new kraft cardboard packaging for our helmets and goggles and are now co-packaging our skis and bindings to significantly reduce packaging and optimise truck fill levels.

Finally, we have developed new “Respect” packaging which imposes new requirements on all our product lines:

Schema of the actions carried out on packaging

ROSSIGNOL GROUP SHARES COMPOSITION OF ITS FIRST RECYCLABLE SKI, THE ESSENTIAL.
ENCOURAGES FURTHER INDUSTRY COLLABORATION TO MEET THE CHALLENGES OF CREATING A CIRCULAR ECONOMY THROUGHOUT THE SKI INDUSTRY

Creation of Essential skis in a workshop

To initiate a more collective industry movement, the Rossignol Group shares its plans for its new recyclable ski with all stakeholders in the mountain / winter sport segment. The aim is to actively contribute to the development of exchangeable technical solutions that will further facilitate the recyclability of products throughout winter sport markets.

The Rossignol Group aspires to create momentum and movement around the life cycle and recyclability of skis and winter sports equipment. Rossignol is emphasizing the importance of initiating a collaborative approach in order to collectively reduce the environmental impacts of the segment.

Rossignol is making the technical specificities of its first recyclable ski, the Essential, available to all, including industry peers and competitors.The details of the construction and composition of the Rossignol Essential ski are available on an open access basis. Technical plans and nomenclature are available.

Contact for further enquiry: communication@rossignol.com

Concevoir des produits plus respectueux

  • Paysage de montagne enneigée

    Concevoir

    DES PRODUITS PLUS RESPECTUEUX

Afin de connaître leur impact sur l’environnement, nous avons mené des Analyses de Cycle de Vie (ACV) sur nos produits, point de départ indispensable pour procéder ensuite à des changements et améliorations dans le mode de conception et de production de nos gammes.

Les Analyses de Cycle de Vie (ACV)

L’ACV est l’outil le plus abouti en matière d’évaluation globale des impacts environnementaux d’un produit. Elle recense et quantifie chaque étape tout au long de la vie d’un produit. Toutes les étapes sont prises en compte, de la conception jusqu’au tri et à la fin de vie du produit, en passant par l’extraction des matières premières et l’énergie, la fabrication, le transport et l’usage.

 

Schéma du cycle de vie des produits

ANALYSE DE CYCLE DE VIE D’UNE VESTE DE SKI (RAPIDE JKT)

Sur la base de cette analyse, nous avons donc consacré nos efforts sur les deux étapes représentant la quasi-totalité de l’impact environnemental total d’une veste de ski : les matériaux bruts (non transformés) et le processus de fabrication pour transformer les matériaux en composants nécessaires à la confection.

Afin d’agir rapidement et de façon efficace, nos premières initiatives ont porté sur les matières premières.

Zoom sur le logo Rossignol d'une veste de ski
Logo Primaloft

Une collaboration a ainsi été mise en place depuis 2018 avec Primaloft, expert en science des matériaux avancés, afin d’utiliser des matières recyclées à partir de bouteilles en plastique sur les isolations synthétiques de la gamme Rossignol Softgoods (textile). Dès l’hiver 2023/2024, l’objectif est que 100% de nos vestes et pantalons de ski utilisent des fibres Primaloft recyclées (contre 80% à l’heure actuelle).

Comment ça fonctionne ?

Recyclage étape 1 Recyclage étape 2 Recyclage étape 3

Les bouteilles en plastique sont récupérées dans des décharges.

Les bouteilles sont nettoyées, déchiquetées et fondues en petits copeaux.

Les copeaux sont ensuite transformés en fibres d’isolation PrimaLoft®.

Logo Global Recycled Standard

En parallèle, certains de nos produits sont conçus avec des fibres recyclées Primaloft certifiées GRS (Global Recycled Standard).

GRS est une norme internationale volontaire qui établit des critères de certification de matière recyclée. Cette certification atteste que le polyester utilisé est 100% recyclé. La norme GRS comprend des critères supplémentaires pour les exigences sociales et environnementales en matière de traitement et les restrictions au niveau de la composition chimique.

Logo Sympatex

Depuis 2018, nous utilisons SympaTex, une membrane imperméable, coupe-vent et respirante sans PFC et 100% recyclable, sur les vestes et pantalons shell (freeride/freerando).

Le Groupe Rossignol utilise également des matières certifiées pour la conception de ses produits.

Logo certification GOTS

La certification GOTS (Global Organic Textile Standard) garantit le statut biologique des fibres textiles utilisées.

D’ici 2023, une partie de nos t-shirts et pantalons d’été sera conçue avec du coton biologique certifié GOTS.

OEKO-TEX

Nous utilisons des matières certifiées OEKO-TEX c’est-à-dire exemptes de substances nocives pour le corps et l’environnement. Cette certification assure la conformité légale des produits textiles contrôlés.

Zoom sur le logo Rossignol d'une veste de ski
Zoom sur une matière textile

Pour s’assurer du respect de l’ensemble de ces conformités, nous avons mis en place un cahier des charges pour nos fournisseurs. Une démarche de vérification est activée, ce qui permet de récupérer tous les certificats.

Nous avons aussi clarifié et augmenté nos exigences vis-à-vis de nos fournisseurs via le déploiement d’un nouveau code de conduite :

  • Les duvets, plumes et cuirs doivent être des sous-produits provenant de la filière agroalimentaire ;
  • L’utilisation de duvets et plumes obtenus par le plumage à vif des animaux est interdite ;
  • L’utilisation de duvets et plumes provenant de la filière foie-gras est interdite.

Par ailleurs, le Groupe n’utilise plus de fourrure animale depuis 2018, ni de laine angora (depuis 2020) ou de mohair (depuis 2021).

Enfin, nous adopterons à partir de la saison 2023-2024 des technologies sans PFC (PFC Free) pour les traitements déperlants, meilleure option à l’heure actuelle pour garantir la résistance et la performance des produits tout en préservant l’environnement.

Pour qu’un produit soit imperméable, l’industrie textile a longtemps utilisé les traitements PFC (perfluorocarbures), des substances chimiques synthétiques utilisées comme déperlants permettant à l’eau de s’écouler sous forme de goutte au lieu de s’infiltrer dans les produits. Or, ces substances chimiques ont été pointées du doigt comme étant cancérigènes et agissant comme des perturbateurs endocriniens. Les traitements PFC sont à la fois nocifs pour la santé des hommes et pour l’environnment.

ANALYSE DE CYCLE DE VIE D’UN SKI ALPIN

La livraison de nos skis représente seulement 2 à 3% de l’impact environnemental d’un ski alpin. Concernant la fabrication, elle représente 24 à 28% du total (la majorité de nos usines sont certifiées 100% énergies renouvelables). Finalement, l’impact environnemental le plus important provient des composants utilisés pour fabriquer un ski, à hauteur de 60 à 70%.  Nous avons ainsi concentré en premier lieu nos efforts sur ce secteur.

Nos premières actions dans la conception de nos produits 

  • Développement de produits moins impactants en favorisant l’utilisation de matériaux recyclés.
  • Les carres de nos skis sont constituées de 20% d’acier recyclé tandis que les semelles peuvent contenir selon les références jusqu’à 85% de matières recyclées.
  • Récupération, broyage et réinjection des carottes d’injection pour la production des coques de chaussures de ski.
    Pour la saison 2023/2024, 40 000 paires contiennent ces matières recyclées.
  • Choix de matières premières certifiées et élargissement des gammes de skis contenant des noyaux bois labellisés PEFC™, garantissant une gestion durable des forêts.
  • Réduction des substances polluantes dans la production de l’ensemble des gammes Rossignol.
  • Une démarche de standardisation des matériaux a été amorcée afin de diminuer le nombre de matériaux et également la variété des approvisionnements de ces matériaux dans les produits. L’objectif est de simplifier les approvisionnements et la fabrication des produits mais également de limiter les risques d’obsolescence de matière première en fin de cycle de fabrication. Enfin, dans les cas où il est difficile de réduire le nombre de matériaux utilisés, ce travail permet de faciliter le recyclage de ces produits en fin de vie (cf. le Ski Essential).

Au niveau de la décoration des skis, le procédé d’impression jet d’encre a été progressivement amélioré ces dernières années chez Rossignol et a été déployé pour des quantités significatives de produits. Ce procédé permet d’utiliser moins d’encre, d’en limiter les pertes et de ne pas se servir de supports de sérigraphie ni de solvants pour les nettoyer.

Pour nos casques de ski, nous avons généralisé l’utilisation d’un nouveau matériau plus respectueux de l’environnement, recyclable à 100 %. Sa fabrication ne requiert aucun COV (Composés Organiques Volatils), CFC (chlorofluorocarbone) ou autre composé reconnu comme particulièrement nuisible à l’environnement. Notre démarche a été récompensée en janvier 2019 par un ISPO Award.

Photo de matières premières pour la fabrication de skis
Photo du ski Essential

Mieux gérer la fin de vie des produits…

D’autre part, même si la fin de vie ne représente que 5 à 9% de l’impact environnemental d’un ski alpin, nous constatons qu’aujourd’hui le pire scénario à cette étape du processus est l’enfouissement, une méthode désastreuse pour l’environnement. Jusqu’à présent, un trop grand nombre de skis subissait ainsi ce sort dans une décharge.

Depuis quelques années, une partie des skis en fin de vie récupérés au Groupe est broyée afin d’obtenir plusieurs types de composants, en séparant les métaux ferreux et non ferreux qui sont ensuite recyclés pour fabriquer à nouveau de l’acier et de l’aluminium. La majeure partie des composants obtenus ensuite sont des matières plastiques mélangées que nous utilisons comme combustible solide de récupération.

De ce constat est né le projet Essential, avec l’objectif d’obtenir davantage de matières recyclées et tendre au maximum vers le recyclage de nos skis en fin de vie.

… C’est mieux concevoir au départ

La démarche que nous avons mise en place réside ainsi dans la diminution du nombre de matériaux utilisés et la sélection, rigoureuse et exclusive, de matières facilement recyclables en fin de vie, afin de favoriser une économie circulaire. Le résultat ? Un produit présentant un taux de recyclabilité de 77%.

Construit dans un esprit de sobriété, le ski Essential bénéficie d’une éco-conception intégrant des matières recyclées, naturelles labellisées, biosourcées, d’un procédé de décoration sans solvant ni eau, et d’une fabrication à partir d’énergie renouvelable. Cette innovation Rossignol a récemment été récompensée du prix de « l’économie circulaire » attribué par l’Union Sport & Cycle lors des ÉcoSport Awards 2022.

Tout en travaillant en amont sur la conception des skis pour intégrer des matériaux plus vertueux, nous avons choisi de nous associer à MTB, acteur de référence dans le domaine du recyclage, pour gérer et traiter de manière efficace le sujet spécifique de la fin de vie de nos produits.

Les matières premières d'un ski
Le ski Rossignol Essential

C’est dans cette démarche de co-développement qu’a été mis au point un procédé de broyage, de tri, de séparation et de revalorisation des matériaux à travers un process technologique permettant de mieux recycler à la fois les skis conventionnels mais aussi les chaussures de ski et les bâtons, et surtout les nouveaux skis Essential.

Le recyclage s’inscrit dans une démarche d’économie circulaire via des filières organisées. Les matériaux recueillis pourront alimenter les industries de l’automobile, du jardin ou du BTP et demain être réutilisés dans certains nouveaux produits Rossignol.

La R Box conçue par MTB, outil innovant de recyclage des skis mais aussi de chaussures, bâtons, sera opérationnelle à partir de 2023.

D’ici 2028, le Groupe souhaite qu’un tiers de ses gammes de skis s’intègre dans une démarche d’économie circulaire. D’autres produits (chaussures, bâtons, vêtements) sont en cours de développement dans la même démarche de sobriété, de simplicité et de recyclabilité accrue.

Minimiser l’impact de nos emballages

Nous travaillons à la limitation de nos emballages et adoptons des alternatives davantage recyclables : cartons d’emballage certifiés FSC®, utilisation de polybags en PE recyclé, diminution de la quantité d’encre utilisée sur les emballages afin de réduire leur impact et garantir leur recyclabilité.

Nous avons également conçu de nouveaux emballages en carton kraft pour nos casques et masques et réalisons maintenant du co-packaging pour nos skis et fixations afin de réduire sensiblement les emballages et optimiser le remplissage des camions.

Enfin, nous avons développé un nouveau packaging « Respect » avec de nouvelles exigences pour toutes nos lignes de produit.

Schéma des actions menées sur les emballages